Mother’s Day Meatballs

Sam's "eggs and toast" breakfast tray complete with flower.

As a treat to myself, I had planned to make Banana Yogurt Scones for Mother’s Day. My kids still being young, are not exactly in a position to get me grand gifts or even take me out to breakfast. But this year, I got better. Friday night after I went to bed, Nora snuck into my room with flowers and a “I love u mom” banner made of old pictures and hand written letters. I woke up to about 15 vases of flowers and a sweet note, that made me laugh out loud. Sam left me a note on my bathroom mirror, then  set up a candle light scrabble game (mainly so he could play with matches) with a bowl of popcorn, and made eggs and toast for me the next morning. I didn’t really need to make scones after all.

Deglazing the yummy browned meatball bits from the pan with tomatos sauce.

Instead, I made the kids chocolate chip cookies, and spaghetti and meatballs. I had a slew of juicy tomatoes begging to be made into sauce. I made the sauce Saturday night, then feta meatballs to go with it Sunday night. The sauce was full of carrots, onion, garlic and tomatoes and super fresh tasting–perfect with the feta and parmesan cheese flavored meatballs. A grand weekend it was.

Fresh Tomato Sauce

2 tablespoons olive oil

3 carrots, chopped

1 large onion chopped

7 large, juicy tomatoes, crushed

dash of sugar, salt and pepper

2 tablespoons sherry vinegar

3 cloves garlic, crushed

1. Heat oil in a Dutch Oven or large saucepan.. Add carrots and onin, saute until browned, about 10 minutes. Add crushed tomatoes, sugar, salt and pepper. Simmer 2 hours or until sauce is thickened. Add vinegar and garlic.

Feta-Beef Meatballs

1 pound ground sirloin

1 pound lean ground beef

4 slices white bread

1/2 cup milk

1 egg

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1/2 cup crunbled feta cheese

1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley

salt and pepper

1. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Mix well with hands. Shape into (about 24) meatballs. Cook meatballs in a large nonstick skillet until browned. Ladle some sauce into skillet, and stir scraping up the browned bits. Add meatballs to sauce. Serve over spaghetti with freshly grated cheese.

3 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Pasta with Love | the relish dish

Leave a Reply

