A Chicken and a Box of Bisquick

The simmering broth cooks the dumplings releasing their starch which creates a creamy broth in these chicken and dumplings.

I grew up on the cake made from the side of the Bisquick box, the one with a broiled pecan sugar topping. It was my favorite. But I don’t like pancakes made from Bisquick, because to me they taste like the cake. However dumplings are another matter entirely. My kids love my chicken and dumplings, and request it on a regular basis. And it’s one of the easiest things I make, thanks to the box of Bisquick.  I’ve made my own dumplings from scratch, but to be quite honest, they’re not that much better than Bisquick, which, by the way, I do gussy up with some Parmiggiano-Reggiano cheese, garlic powder and green onions if they’re around.   Stew a chicken, shred the meat, add some carrots and dumplings to the simmering broth,  cover and cook. What results is a creamy chicken broth and moist, delicate biscuits.  Comfort for adults and kids alike.

Bisquick then and now. There a gluten-free version too.

Easy Chicken and Dumplings

Don’t rush the chicken stock–the longer it simmers, the more flavorful it will be.  Although it’s not necessary, I usually add onion, carrot, parsley  and black peppercorns to the stock for more flavor.

1  3- pound chicken (fryer) or chicken quarters

3 carrots, chopped

2 1/4 cups Bisquick biscuit mix

3/4 cup milk

2 ounces Parmiggiano-Regggiano cheese

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1. Place chicken in Dutch oven or large pot, (add chopped onion and peppercorns if desired) and simmer 2-3 hours or until chicken is cooked and broth is rich and reduced some. Remove chicken, let cool. Remove chicken meat, shred, discard bones and skin. Add chicken and carrots to broth. Simmer.

2.Combine 2 1/4 cups Bisquick, 3/4 cup milk, 2 ounces grated Parmiggiano-Reggiano cheese and garlic powder. Mix. Drop dumplings into simmering broth. Cook 10 minutes. Cover and cook another 10 – 15 minutes or until dumplings are cooked through. Serves 4-6.

3 thoughts on “A Chicken and a Box of Bisquick

  1. Oh I really love the old image…how sweet…I must confess I keep a box of Bisquick on hand for those crazy moments I have where that is just the right ingredient….Cook on!

  2. Okay, this may be a silly question, but this recipe makes no mention of what makes the broth. JUnder step 1 do you cover the chicken when stewing with water? Or canned broth? Or both?

    • Oh yes, well you cover the bird with water. I guess you can use broth if you want it to be more concentrated, but I always use water, because, well I always have it on hand.Thanks Judy…Jill

Leave a Reply

