Route 66–Eating on $66 a Week–Day 2

Pick peppery garden arugula before it gets too hot.

Mint and a bit of basil for my chimichurri sauce.

Day 2–Today I’m going to make use of my herb garden, which is overflowing with mint, thyme and a fair amount of basil. They’ll get whirled up into a  chimichurri sauce (of sorts) to marinate the boneless, skinless chicken breasts, I had in the freezer. I’m also going to make this Greek feta tart called Alevropita. I’ve had the recipe, torn from the pages of Saveur for months, and it looks fantastic. With 1/2 a package of feta in the cheese drawer (and always an abundance of flour, oil and water), today’s the day. With that, I’ll have an arugula salad with the arugula from the garden, that must be eaten before it “bolts.” What I don’t have for salad, I’ll toss in a pasta dish tomorrow with some country ham. Also some fresh, sweet corn on the cob, (that I neglected to mention in my original grocery list), that I got at the farmstand around the corner–6 ears for $2. Along with homegrown Tennessee tomatoes. For dessert I’ll either make lemon frozen yogurt from a container of yogurt I had in the fridge and some lemons or make a quick lemon granita from the Simply Lemonade we bought.

Day 2 Menu

Chicken with Chimichurri Sauce

Greek Feta Tart

Arugula Salad

Fresh Corn on the Cob

Fresh Sliced Tomatoes

Lemon Frozen Yogurt or Granita

Here is the green sauce, which I’m not sure could be called a chimicurri, although it did have elements of it:

Budget Green Sauce

Add what ever green you want. Fresh spinach would be good, as well as arugula.

Handful each of fresh garden thyme, mint, parsley, and basil. (Cilantro would be great, but mine wasn’t big enough).

2 fat garlic cloves

1 lemon

splash of sherry vinegar

1/4 cup olive oil

salt and pepper

Whirl all in food processor. Combine with 1-2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into large strips. Marinate 4 -24 hours. Saute on grill pan. Would be great on steak or fish as well.

3 thoughts on “Route 66–Eating on $66 a Week–Day 2

  1. I heart chimichurri sauce. Your garden looks so lovely. I have to content myself with farmer’s markets for fresh herbs since my gardening skills are…well…non-existent. Do you happen to have Thai basil? I love basil but I’ve been experimenting with different varieties lately.

Leave a Reply

