Route 66- Easy Budget Summer Dessert

Easy Lemonade Granita

We gussied up bottled lemonade with fresh lemon and honey, but you can freeze straight out of the bottle or combine with any other kind of juice.

One of the drinks I splurged on last week on my $66 shopping excursion was Simply Lemonade. We love this fresh tasting lemonade, that’s the closest thing to homemade we’ve found. So with about 1 1/2 cups of this lemonade, I added the juice of 4 lemons I had in the fridge and a couple tablespoons honey. This intensified the mixture so that when it was frozen it would be really lemony and flavorful. I froze it for a day, scraped for a yuuumy, cooling easy granita. Here are some other quick granitas perfect for what has turned out to be the dog days of June.

Blueberry Granita

Fresh Citrus Granita

For a video of me and my son Sam making granita click here.

5 thoughts on “Route 66- Easy Budget Summer Dessert

  1. Aren’t Granitas the easiest, quickest and best way to make an inexpensive dessert out of almost any fruits or juices? I think this would be wonderful and refreshing with some really thin crispy sugar cookies…si…no?

  2. I’ve never made this–and there are so many possibilities. I’m going to have to give this a try. I’ve been meaning to try lavender lemonade maybe I could also use it in the granita

  3. Jill,

    I think your helper Sam is quite impressive in the kitchen! Kudos to the fabulous Melton team in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

