Hummus My Friends

I’m recycling this hummus post from my old blog because ..well…. it’s the best hummus ever and is deserving of an annual tribute. Enjoy.


Ever since my trip to Israel last year, I’d wanted to replicate the fabulous, creamy hummus I’d had there. One thing is for sure, Israel is all about hummus from the minute you step on the plane to every restaurant and street vendor. They serve it in great big heaps with chickpeas, olive oil and parsley puddled in the center. It’s much richer and creamier than most hummus in the states. Of course puffy hot pita bread accompanies it. So this weekend, I made the recipe from The Book of New Israeli Food, by Janna Gur, a beautiful book I bought in Tel Aviv and lugged home. The hummus was great. It called for dried garbanzos, which I hadn’t made in years, and I was amazed at how much better they were than canned. I have to believe that was one of the things that makes the hummus in Israel so good.

Basic Israeli Hummus Dip

Adapted from The Book of New Israeli Food: A Culinary Journey by Janna Gur.

1 pound dry chickpeas

3/4 cup tahini

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

2 cloves garlic, crushed

Sea salt to taste

1.    Cover the chickpeas with water, and bring to a boil. Remove from heat, cover and let stand 1 hour. Drain, cover with water and bring to a boil. Simmer, covered over low heat until soft, about 1 to 2 hours.

2.    Put chickpeas and tahini in food processor; process until smooth. Add lemon, garlic and salt, and some cooking liquid from the chickpeas if hummus is too thick. Serve with raw vegetables and pita bread.

One thought on “Hummus My Friends

  1. I have had the pleasure of tasting your yummy hummus and can say for a fact that it is the best. It is easy to make and costs pennies compared to the store-bought brands. Just thinking of it makes me want some. Thanks for this lovely, simple recipe.

Leave a Reply

