Christmas Sweaters & Pisco Sours

Our Christmas sweater party was inspired by my daughter's finds at yard sales the year before.

 

I’m not a cocktail gal. So when I go to parties with fancy cocktails or punches, they always sound good, but half way through I’m searching for a cold beer. But for some reason, for our second annual Christmas Sweater Party, I decided a drink of some sort was in order.  Although there was no shortage of recipes I was dying to cook,  there was an unfortunate shortage of funds, so I decided that the party food was going to spring from whatever I had in the fridge–an exercise I always think is fun.

As for the drink, I had a bottle of Pisco Capel in the cupboard, that had been there for years, ever since I returned from a trip to Chile, where Pisco Sours, the national drink,  accompany practically every meal, at least by us.  I had tangerine juice on the brain, which my daughter and I had been swilling all month (all the flavor and none of the seeds). Thus was born my Tangerine Pisco Sour. A combination of fresh tangerine juice, pisco, agave nectar (a leftover bottle from a photo shoot), and  lemon and lime juice. Into the pitcher I tossed some pomegranate seeds or  “arils”, and some sliced apples which seemed festive. As it turns out, fruit makes everything look harmless and happy, and even the steadfast nondrinkers were slurping it happily oblivious to the fact that it contained alcohol. Here’s the rest of the menu, all gleaned from leftovers in the fridge.

Roasted Pumpkin Cheddar Pizza with Arugula

Garlic Lemon Chicken Salad

Goat Cheese with Honey and Thyme

Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese with Saba

Roasted Almonds and Cashews

Coconut Macaroons with Sea Salt

German Drop Cookies

Fresh Tangerine Pisco Sours

Fresh Tangerine Pisco Sours

3 cups fresh tangerine juice

1 cup Pisco

1/4 cup agave nectar or honey

Juice of 2 lemons and 2 limes

Pomegranate seeds

1 apple, thinly sliced

24 ounces sparkling water or club soda

1. In a large pitcher, combine the juice, pisco, nectar and lemon juice. Stir well. add pomegranate seeds and apple. Add sparkling water just before serving.  Serve cold.

Coconut Macaroons with Sea Salt

I like to make these cookies small, maximizing the crunchy browned exterior, which is the best part.

1/2 cup flour

3 cups unsweetened coconut

1/2 cup turbinado sugar

1 cup sweetened condensed milk

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

Coarse Sea Salt

1. Combine flour, coconut, sugar, milk, salt and vanilla. Mix well. Drop by tablespoons onto a greased baking sheet. Sprinkle tops with sea salt. Bake at 350F for 15 -20 minutes or until browned and crisp.

One thought on “Christmas Sweaters & Pisco Sours

  1. Well I was one of the lucky ones who slurped that Pisco Sour down like it was water…until I realized it was not water and I was driving! A deliciously refreshing drink and I felt so healthy with all that Vitamin C(hristmas).

Leave a Reply

